top of page
Image by Andre Jackson
Image by Eric Ward

In India, family law holds paramount importance, governing legal matters related to family relationships through a combination of personal and statutory laws. These laws cater to various religious communities and the broader citizenry. We strive to provide insightful information and guidance on family law issues. Here's a detailed overview of the key aspects:


Personal Laws:

  1. Hindu Law:

    • Applicable to Hindus, Buddhists, Jains, and Sikhs.

    • Regulates aspects like marriage, divorce, inheritance, and adoption.

  2. Muslim Law:

    • Specifically applies to Muslims.

    • Addresses matters concerning marriage, divorce, and family affairs.

  3. Christian Law:

    • Pertinent to Christians.

    • Governs issues related to marriage, divorce, and familial disputes.

  4. Parsi Law:

    • Applicable to Parsis, followers of the Zoroastrian religion.

    • Provides legal frameworks for marriage and family matters.


Statutory Laws:

  1. Hindu Marriage Act, 1955:

    • Enacted by the Indian Parliament.

    • Governs marriage and divorce proceedings for Hindus.

  2. Special Marriage Act, 1954:

    • Facilitates registration of inter-religious and inter-caste marriages.

    • A statutory provision ensuring legal recognition for diverse unions.

  3. Guardians and Wards Act, 1890:

    • Parliament-enacted law for the appointment of guardians for minor children.

    • Ensures the welfare and protection of children.

  4. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005:

    • A significant statutory provision addressing domestic violence.

    • Provides legal remedies and safeguards for women facing such situations.

Key Issues Addressed by Family Law:

  1. Adoption:

    • Legal process establishing a parent-child relationship without biological ties.

    • Ensures legal rights and responsibilities for adoptive parents.

  2. Divorce:

    • Legal dissolution of a marriage.

    • Involves legal procedures to address the separation of spouses.

  3. Child Custody and Support:

    • Legal determination of parental rights and financial support for children.

    • Aims to prioritize the well-being of the child in custody disputes.

  4. Domestic Violence:

    • Legal remedies for acts of abuse within the family.

    • Protection and legal actions against domestic violence.

Family law encompasses complex and sensitive issues. If you are facing legal challenges within your family, it is crucial to consult with an experienced family law lawyer. Adhivakta Law Chamber is committed to providing expert guidance and legal support tailored to your specific situation. Our team of experienced lawyers is well-versed in the intricacies of family law, ensuring comprehensive assistance for your legal needs.

Family Law

bottom of page